Le Prix Charbonnier 2017-10-26T17:04:46-07:00

Le Prix Charbonnier

The Prix Charbonnier, the Federation of Alliances Françaises USA’s most prestigious award, was created in 1991 to recognize M. Daniel Charbonnier of San Francisco, a past President of the Federation, who exemplified all of the best qualities of this organization. The purpose of the Prix Charbonnier, to be given from time to time as appropriate at the Federation’s Annual Meeting and Convention, is to recognize persons of national stature and reputation whose vocation or avocation has promoted French language and culture in a manner consistent with the goals and purpose of the Federation. The recipient need not be a member of an Alliance Française. A committee established by the Board of Directors of the Federation nominates the candidate for the Prix Charbonnier.

2017 Prix Charbonnier:
Mitch Landrieu & the City of New Orleans

Mitch Landrieu was sworn in as the 61st Mayor of New Orleans on May 3, 2010 and has led the city to become America’s best comeback story and one of the fastest growing major cities in America. Since 2010, New Orleans has been ranked as the #1 metropolitan area for overall economic recovery by the Brookings Institute and as America’s Best City for School Reform by the Fordham Institute. New Orleans also received the World Tourism Award for outstanding accomplishments in the travel and hospitality industry. Now, the city is continuing to progress toward its 300th anniversary in 2018.

Prior to becoming mayor, Landrieu served as Louisiana’s Lieutenant Governor for six years, during which he launched the Cultural Economy Initiative to quantify and grow jobs in Louisiana’s culture, music, food, film and art industries. Prior to becoming Louisiana’s Lieutenant Governor, Landrieu served in the Louisiana House of Representatives for 16 years and he also had a successful law practice for 15 years.

Landrieu was educated at Jesuit High School of New Orleans, Catholic University in Washington D.C., and earned a law degree from Loyola University. Today, the Mayor and his wife Cheryl, who is a lawyer serving as Clerk of the Louisiana 5th Circuit Court of Appeals, are raising five children of their own.

France and French Influence in New Orleans

Louisiana was claimed for France in 1682, and two brothers (Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d’Iberville and Jean-Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville), founded New Orleans seventeen years later. La Nouvelle Orléans was named in honor of the Duke of Orléans, France’s ruling regent until the young Louis XV could take the throne. Two French engineers laid out the first segments of a walled village, what later would be known as the French Quarter or the Vieux Carré. Indian hunters, German farmers and trappers traded their goods in a clearing where the French Market stands today. Because of the historic ties with France, New Orleans was enveloped from its inception with a unique multicultural, diverse outlook—an outlook that is still embraced today by its leaders and its residents.

Prix Charbonnier Recipients

(with year & convention location)
Mitch Landrieu · 2017 (New Orleans)
Mayor of New Orleans
Hubert Joly · 2016 (Minneapolis)
Chairman & CEO of Best Buy
Jacques Pépin · 2015 (San Francisco)
Chef & Cookbook Author
Stephen Breyer · 2014 (Washington DC)
Associate Justice
Patricia Wells · 2013 (Chicago)
Cookbook Author
David McCollough · 2012 (Providence)
Patrice Courtaban · 2011 (Louisville)
Chief Operating Officer of TV5MONDE USA
Comte Gilbert de Pusy de La Fayette · 2010 (New Orleans)
Remi (Ratatouille) · 2009 (Chicago)
Brad Bird, Pixar Pictures
Louis Kyle · 2008 (Naples)
France Today, France Amérique
Jane Robert · 2007 (Milwaukee)
Past President, Federation of Alliances Françaises
Ambassador Jean-David Levitte · 2006 (St. Louis)
French Ambassador to the United States
M. Howard Leach · 2005 (San Francisco)
American Ambassador to France · 2001-2005
M. Pierre Cardin · 2004 (Washington DC)
Groupe Pierre Cardin
M. André Cointreau · Président · 2003 (Boston)
Le Cordon Bleu
Mme Hedwige Cointreau de Bouteville · 2003 (Boston)
President of Pierre Deux
Mr. John H. F. Haskell, Jr. · 2002 (Paris)
President of French Institute/Alliance Française of New York
M. Jean-Louis Turlin · 2001 (Albuquerque)
President of French Press · France Amérique
Mme Anne Prah-Perochon · 2001 (Albuquerque)
Editor in Chief  of French Press · France Today
Mme Marie Galanti · 2001 (Albuquerque)
Directrice de la Publication · French Press · Journal Français
Mr. David M. Thoms · 1999 (Washington DC)
Past President of the Federation · French Community Philanthropist
Mrs. Eleanor Reynolds Morse
Past President of the Federation
Founder · Salvador Dali Art Museum (St. Petersburg, Florida)
M. Pierre Howard · 1998 (Atlanta)
French Cultural Promotion
Mr. Malcolm Wiseheart · 1996 (Miami)
French Cultural Philanthropist
Mr. John H. Bryan · 1992 (Chicago)
President Sara Lee, Inc.
Mrs. Eleanor Wood-Prince · 1992 (Chicago)
French Community Philanthropist
Mrs. Julia Child · 1991 (Washington DC)
International Chef and Cookbook Author